Board of Selectmen

  • Jamie Toale, Chairman
  • Robert Ebersole, Vice-Chairman
  • Damon McQuaid, Clerk
  • Katey Adams, Member
  • Phyllis Luck, Member

The Board of Selectmen is composed of five members who are elected for three-year terms. As the Chief Elected and Executive Officers of the Town, the Selectmen are vested with all the municipal authority not specifically retained by the Town's legislative body, Town Meeting. The Selectmen appoint a Town Manager, responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Town, whose powers are specified in the Towns Home Rule Charter. The Selectmen issue the warrants for Town Meetings and make recommendations on the warrant articles; initiate legislative policy by inserting articles in Town Meeting Warrants and then implement the votes subsequently adopted. They adopt town administrative policies; review and set fiscal guidelines for the annual operating budget and the five-year capital improvements program and make recommendations to Town Meeting on the same. The Selectmen appoint department heads and members of most official boards and commissions; hold public hearings on important town issues and periodic conferences with agencies under their jurisdiction and with community groups; represent the Town before the General Court and in all regional and metropolitan affairs; and enforce Town By-Laws and regulations. The Selectmen also serve as the licensing / permitting board and responsible for issuing and renewing licenses in more than 20 categories, including common victualler, food vendor, liquor, lodging house, earth removal, inflammables, special events and entertainment. The Board of Selectmen meets every Tuesday, unless otherwise posted, 7:00 P.M. to conclusion in the Joseph F. Bilotta Meeting Room, 2nd floor, Town Hall. The session is broadcast live by Lunenburg Access Television (LATV), local channel 8. Heather Lemieux, Town Manager, and Elaine Peterson, Executive Assistant to the Town Manager.

Additional Links:


Listing files in 'Board of Selectmen'